When Good Likes Go Bad

You thought Poshmark Likes were all roses and unicorns, didn’t you? Well, not always. Spoiler: This is a post about blocking people.

Some Poshmark sellers use likes as an equivalent to or in conjunction with a Share… essentially communicating, “I liked your stuff, checkout my closet, follow me”. These are the kind of “likes” I truly loathe. At least a reasonable chunk of the time, this situation happens when a Posher is using a bot that is set up to “Follow, Share, Like”, where the user sets an automatic number of shares and likes to complete when they encounter your closet. A telltale sign of this is liking an item and then sharing it. A person actually thinking of buying that particular item would not then share it with other potential buyers. Maybe you followed them, or shared one of their items. And this is how they repay you! #facepalm #botfail

I dislike this practice so much, in fact, that if a seller has liked a gratuitous volume of my listings… the actual number depends, but more than about 5 likes withing a few minutes flags my attention… and maybe they will have also shared some of those same listings… I will go check out their closet and their “about” page. If they have a lot of active listings but have given essentially no love notes, meaning they are primarily a seller, not a buyer, I will block them. BLOCK! Maybe that seems extreme, but life is just too short to deal with Poshers who deal in this madness. It throws off my estimations of which listings are attractive to actual-for-real potential buyers (which they are not), and it wastes my time. I am on Poshmark to make sales, and there are countless other potential buyers in the sea Poshmark. It is no loss to me to block someone, and no loss to them either.

While we’re talking about blocking people, let me also say that I’ll block people I encounter who are rude to me or others, people who leave very poor ratings or nasty love notes, and closets who sell merch that I never want to pop up in my feed with my kids around. My mantra here: “If you have to blur it, I have to block you”. Why would I want to have further dealing with any of these people? I don’t. They don’t know they’ve been blocked, no one is offended by it, and I could unblock them at any time (but, let’s be honest, I won’t). Block! Don’t be afraid to use it.

Of course, I should tell you HOW to block someone, if you don’t know already. On the mobile app, go into the closet you want to block. In the upper right corner, click on the 3 dots. A few options pop up, and one of them is “block this user”. On the web version, go to the closet you want to block. The 3 dot icon is just to the right of the “follow” button. Click that and you will see the “block user” option.

Let me follow all this up by saying that these are merely my own opinions and my personal Posh practices. If you have different opinion, cool! I’d love to hear it! Leave a comment! A polite one… or I’ll have to block you!! 😘

2 thoughts on “When Good Likes Go Bad”

  1. Indeed! Life is way too short for needless drama. Well said! I think that I may need to add that to my Poshmark Motto 😉 (https://poshmarketeer.wordpress.com/2019/01/05/my-poshmark-motto/). And thanks so much for commenting! I have checked out your blog and I think we likely have some “life pain” in common, and I hope that you are feeling some joy today. The world is better because you are in it, in case no one has told you that today. You made my day better 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.